top of page

Anindo Banerjee Fellowship


As Praxis turns 25, we launch this fellowship in memory of Anindo Banerjee, our first team member, friend and co-traveller, whom we lost earlier this year. The fellowship is an attempt to honour his contribution and commitment to participation, social justice and accountability.  It will be awarded annually to one candidate/group with lived experience of marginalisation, to conduct grassroots participatory research, which focuses on equity, inclusion and community knowledge building.

About the Fellowship 

  • The six month fellowship is open to Indian citizens above the age of 18.

  • We strongly encourage women or non-binary candidates from marginalised communities to apply. 

  • The fellow will be selected on the basis of a proposal (submitted in any Indian language). It should include an indicative budget.

  • Individuals and groups of up to three candidates could apply, providing a rationale for the same in the proposal.

  • We will support fellowships with budgets ranging from INR 50,000 (Fifty Thousand Only) to INR 2,00,000 (Two Lakhs Only). This is for the entire duration of the fellowship, including the extension, if any.

Applications Closed!

We are happy to annouce that after screening multiple proposals, we have selected our first Fellow. Hailing from the Van Gujjar community, through his project our Fellow aims to revive the traditional knowledge of Van Gujjars, their folk songs and folktales by preserving, documenting and showcasing them to the wider public.

Selection Process

There would be three layers of the selection process

Layer 1: Rejection Stage

All proposals, which do not fit the criterion described above, would be rejected 

Layer II: Consideration Stage

All proposals will be reviewed by thematic experts, who would use the criterion of contribution to debates on equity and inclusion; innovation in methodology and application; and the way the proposal engages with systems and structure of knowledge production.

Layer II: Selection Stage

A five member committee including thematic experts will deliberate and decide the name/s of the Fellows.

For any questions/clarifications, please reach out to:

bottom of page